Welcome to Roosevelt County, Montana

Contact Information

Roosevelt County
400 2nd Avenue South
Wolf Point, MT 59201
Phone: 406.653.6200
Fax: 406.653.6201


Roosevelt County Information

Theodore Roosevelt 1907

Roosevelt County is located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of 2010, the population was 10,425. Its county seat is Wolf Point.

Roosevelt County was created by the Montana Legislature in 1919 from Sheridan County. The name honors former president Theodore Roosevelt, who had died shortly before the county was formed.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,370 square miles (6,100 km2), of which, 2,356 square miles (6,100 km2) of it is land and 14 square miles (36 km2) of it (0.59%) is water. Over 74 percent of the county's land area lies within the Fort Peck Indian Reservation.


In May of 1805, the Lewis & Clark expedition camped on the Missouri River south of the present day Wolf Point. The Welcome to Wolf Point  and Culbertson web sites have lots of local  information and links to area attractions.  Fort Buford and Fort Union are located on the Missouri River at the SE corner of Roosevelt County and North Dakota.


  • Bainville

  • Brockton

  • Culbertson

  • Froid

  • Poplar

    Wolf Point